The Best Blueberry Pie

When I was growing up, there were Fannie Farmer households and Joy of Cooking households. We were a Fannie Farmer household. My mom and grandmother both relied on this classic from the Boston Cooking-School and a copy was given to me when, still in my teens, I left home. All these years later, the cover is falling off and the pages are stained, but I still use and love my first cookbook.

 

One of my favorite recipes is for Open Blueberry Pie. I am happy to report that despite updates and revisions, this recipe is in the latest version of the Fannie Farmer Cookbook too. If you come from a Fannie Farmer household, you surely already know this pie, but if not, now with blueberries plump from all the rain, and ripening quickly, is the time to try it. Yum.

 

Open Blueberry Pie

Blueberries and cream in a crisp, prebaked pie shell.

 

Tart Pastry dough for 9-inch tart.

(My note: your favorite crust is fine or use the one on page 640)

1 cup sugar

3 tablespoons cornstarch

1 cup water

½ teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon butter

4 cups fresh blueberries

1 cup heavy cream

Sugar

Preheat the oven to 4250F. Line a pie pan with the pastry dough, prick the dough all over, and bake for 10-15 minutes, until lightly browned. Mix the sugar, cornstarch, salt, and water in a pan. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until thickened. Add the butter, stir until melted, and let cool. Fold in the blueberries and pile into the baked pie shell. Before serving, whip the cream, adding sugar to taste and spread it over the blueberry filling.

 

Note: My older copy of Fannie says to fill the pie shell with 3 cups of the berries, using only one cup when you cook the sugar mixture. The thickened mixture is then poured over the fresh berries. Either way, Fannie’s blueberry pie is the best.

Posted by Suzy S.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Best Blueberry Pie

  1. judith ann graham

    Hi-
    I just made this recipe today and it turned out very, very soupy. I thought that the one cup of water must have been a misprint. How long do you allow the sugar, water, cornstarch and salt mixture to thicken over heat? How do you know when it is thick enough? I believe that is where I made my mistake. Thanks!

    Judy

  2. sheppy

    I use another Fannie recipe but left my book in Maine, however, from memory-there is NO additional water (blueberries are full of water). I mix sugar, cornstarch or flour and cinnamon, then dredge fresh, uncooked blueberries in that. dump the mixture into a precooked pie crust (your own or store-bought) -dot with butter and sprinkle with lemon juice -bake at 375 for about an hour (just watch it. I always make a crumb topping of equal parts sugar, flour oats and butter. I do use fresh maine blueberries which are smaller and not as wet as the store bought variety..haven’t tried it with the big fat blueberries you get in grocery store.

Leave a Reply

