1000 Awesome Things

We receive hundreds of new books every week, and there is always something that catches your eye and makes you want to run right up to the cash registers and spend your newly acquired paycheck. Such is the downfall of being not only a book addict, but a bookstore employee. If I am honest with myself, I probably spend more on books than I should. Like every good bibliophile I have a large stack of books next to my favorite chair, just waiting for my attention; and yet I just can’t help myself when I am shelving the new stock and I see something that I can’t wait to read. This morning was one of those times. The very first new arrival that I put my hands on today was The Book of Awesome by Neil Pasricha, which can be found on the shelf in our essays section.

This is for lack of a better word, an AWESOME account of all the little things in life that we take for granted, of all the amazing things that we never really think about. One of his short essays is about opening a brand new jar of peanut butter. Of how truly awesome it is to be able to mold and shape all future experiences with that first scoop out of the jar. Neil describes creating a moat around a small island of peanut butter, or taking that first popping mound of deliciousness right from the center.

Neil also maintains a blog titled 1000 Awesome Things, which can be found at what else but, www.1000awesomethings.com. Now as a good bookstore employee I didn’t get to spend much time looking at his blog, but I will admit that I checked it out. My favorite entry so far is #529 titled Finally Peeing after holding it forever. This is a cute a quirky little essay about how awesome the feeling of relief is after, well, finally peeing after holding it forever. These essays make me smile, and some make me laugh out loud. I am amazed at the awareness and ingenuity of this author. Needless to say I will be buying this book, and I will be checking his blog as often as possible, for more smiles and laughs.
– Nikki B –

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “1000 Awesome Things

  1. Nice job, Nikki! I’ve signed up for my daily email and will have to check out the book.

    I certainly understand the disease of wanting so many books. I fondly remember my days as a bookseller and wanting and buying so many books just from shelving and working in various sections. It’s a great problem! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

