Amelia, Mom and Wendell

When she was in high school, my mom dreamed of learning to fly. Amelia Earhart was her role model. Oh how she admired Amelia! I think she wanted to be Amelia Earhart. She neatly clipped and saved newspaper stories and photos of each of Amelia’s exploits, In fact, all these years later (she’ll be 85 in May) my mom still has those clippings, yellowed but carefully preserved. She reads them now and then.

Even after Amelia disappeared, and after my mom married my aeronautical engineer dad and had children, she wore lace up leather boots just like the famous aviatrix. No one else’s mom dressed like this: pants and plaid shirts and combat boots. But my mom was still dreaming of flying.

So, of course, whenever a new book comes out about Amelia Earhart I buy it for her. There have been many through the decades. But a special one is due soon, Night Flight: Amelia Earhart Crosses the Atlantic by Robert Burleigh with art by Wendell Minor. Minor’s art soars. His paintings capture how Amelia must have felt when she was in the sky. I love this book. I can’t wait to give it to my mom. Sure, it’s a children’s picture book, but it will transport her. She will feel the night winds on her face. She will hold the cockpit controls in her hand. She will, once again, dream of flying.

Of course, the book isn’t just perfect for octogenarian women. It will inspire young girls. And boys too.

Take a look.
Posted by Suzy

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Industry

Leave a Reply

